

ETTN's main objectives are to identify, understand and communicate emerging trends and technologies to help members improve.

ETTN Networking Event, Awards and Upcoming Roundtable

By Tim Sayers

The Emerging Trends & Technology Network (ETTN) held its second annual networking event at the 2016 SEMA Show. The event brought together engineering professionals who are passionate about automotive innovation, trends and technology.

Held in SEMA Central, located in the grand lobby of the Las Vegas Convention Center, the event surrounded attendees with some of the hottest feature vehicles of the Show and

the SEMA Garage Industry Innovations Center. SEMA Garage staff was present to discuss the cost-saving product-to-market services that are provided to members.

Attendees enjoyed food, beverages and great conversation about the latest and greatest trends and technology. Engineers from multiple automotive OEMs were in attendance, along with SEMA ETTN members and SEMA members who were interested in growing their network of technical executives and professionals.

The ETTN held its inaugural awards presentation at the networking event to honor and celebrate pro-



Rodney Esteban (center) of PriusChat received the ETTN Ambassador Award.



Robert Vogt IV (center) of Voyomotive received the ETTN Techie Award.

fessionals who have made outstanding contributions to the automotive aftermarket industry and to the network. Three awards were presented.

The Ambassador Award winner was Rodney Esteban of Clazzio/Priuschat. The award is presented to an ETTN member who has demonstrated exceptional volunteer contributions or increased membership and awareness of the ETTN during the past year.

The Genius Award winner was SEMA Hall of Fame member Mark Heffington of Hypertech. The award is given to honor and recognize those outstanding individuals whose cre-

ativity and genius innovation have made significant contributions toward advancing technology that positively impacts the growth and progress of the automotive industry.

When the concept of computer-controlled engines began to emerge, Mark Heffington understood how computer-controlled tuning could significantly impact the performance industry. In 1985, he founded Hypertech Inc. and began to develop and manufacture onboard computer reprogramming devices.

The company introduced the Power Chip in 1986 and, in 1994, Hypertech released the first Power Programmer. Fueled by his love of the aftermarket, Heffington pioneered the computer reprogramming product segment of the industry, which changed the performance aftermarket.

Hypertech has received five SEMA best performance or engineering awards, and Heffington was inducted into the SEMA Hall of Fame for his contribution to advancing performance technology.

The ETTN Techie Award winner was Robert Vogt from Voyomotive. The award recognizes an individual for engineering achievements of a product, process or component that demonstrates innovative and original engineering development and/or advances state-of-the-art technology as it pertains to the automotive industry or product sector.

Vogt is an auto engineer, a computer scientist and an auto industry inventor. Since 2011, he has been the CTO of Voyomotive, leading the team of engineers behind Voyo, a groundbreaking connected-car platform. He is the developer of one of the world's most powerful OBD-II data loggers, which is used by OEMs worldwide and is the cornerstone of the Voyo system. He is a member of the board of directors of the Equipment and Tool Institute and was the 2015 SEMA Launch Pad winner.

ETTN Motorsports Tech Roundtable

In late January, the ETTN will host its second annual Motorsports Tech Roundtable at the 2017 SEMA

ETTN Information

Leadership



Regis Finn ThyssenKrupp Bilstein of America, Chair



Marla Moore Coker Tire Co. Inc., Chair-Elect

SFMA Liaison



Bryan Harrison 909-978-6691

Select Committee Roster

as of July 1, 2016

Michael Alvarez

Kooks Headers and Exhaust Kelleigh Ash

Pilot Automotive

Kent Bradley

Performance Business Media Chris Crecelius

Hypertech Inc.

Rodney Esteban PriusChat

Gabe Hall

MagnaFlow Exhaust Products

Robert Simons Edelbrock LLC

Melanie White

Hellwig Products Co. Inc.

Brian Reese

Immediate Past Chair/Advisor Craftsman/Diehard, Sears Holdings Corp.

Welcome New Members

(July 1–October 31)

Garrett Ondo, Engaged Media Inc.
Mariela Murphy, APR LLC
Christopher LaCouture,
E3 Spark Plugs
Mark Ferner, Bridgestone
Americas Tire Operations
Ralph Zappala,
Chief Cliff Hot Rods
Joe Opperman, Iola Car Show
Nick Purciello, Edelbrock LLC
Steed Dolan, Steed's Tech
Bryce Hudson, Grip Clean LLC
Wesley Jurica, Gigabit Games LLC
Xavier Miller, Spultronix LLC

John Paul Gusewelle, Metal Conditioner Squared LLC Dylan Sievers, Bulldog LED Lighting

Justin Oltz, SCT Performance LLC Aaron Aldrich, Any Level Lift LLC Zach Williams, Raptor Series

Total ETTN Members: 225

Motorsports Parts Manufacturers Council Media Trade Conference in Santa Ana, California.

The roundtable event offers open conversations

Cont. on p. 96